Skip to
English | Deutsch
English | Deutsch

Honorary Senators

The university distinguishes persons who have renders special services to the university by conferring on them the title of honorary senator. The decision is made by the Senate on a proposal by the Rectorate, as described in Section 11, Paragraph 5 of the University Constitution.

Here is a list of the current honorary senators (in chronological order by the date of their appointment; last updated: 24.05.2023.

08.05.1991Mangold, Prof. Dr. Klaus
18.03.1992Danielmeyer, Prof. Dr. Hans Günter
22.12.1993Pestalozzi, Prof. Dr. Karl
01.06.1994Mehl, Georg
05.07.1995Teufel, Prof. h.c. Dr. h.c. Erwin
17.01.1996Weitzmann, Prof. Dr. h.c. Horst
23.06.1999Graetz, Eugen
27.06.2001Reiche, Volker H. H.
27.06.2001Sótonyi, Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Péter
16.06.2004Nothhelfer, Dr. Norbert
15.06.2005Dischinger, Karlhubert
15.06.2005Mayr, Robert
21.06.2006Kang, Dr. Shin-Ho
21.06.2006Köbele, Walter
20.06.2007Becker, Erich
20.06.2007Salomon, Dr. Dieter
18.06.2008Mack, Roland Dr. h.c.
23.06.2010Deutrich, Anne-Kathrin
08.06.2011Kary, Horst
19.06.2013Ritter, Alfred Theodor
04.02.2014Kley, Dr. Karl-Ludwig
10.06.2015Böhme, Margret
22.09.2017Friedrich Pfeifer, Dr. h.c. Lya, J.D.
10.11.2017Endress, Klaus
13.06.2018Gerda Ruf
13.06.2018Dr. Fritz Ruf
05.06.2019Bauer, Dr. Robert
08.07.2020Rüland, Dr. Dorothea
24.05.2022Volz, Prof. Dr. Karl-Reinhard
04.06.2024Bruckner-Tuderman, Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Leena

The University of Freiburg has conferred the title of honorary senator since 1922. The title is a personal honor that becomes void upon death.
Historical List of All Honorary Senators

In 2015 the University Senate arranged for a historical review of the honorary senators to be conducted. Click here to read the final report of the group of experts commissioned for this purpose [de]. On the basis of the report, the Senate resolved in 2017 to dissociate itself from the appointment of six past honorary senators with a National Socialist past (pressrelease). The historical list of all honorary senators appointed since 1922 now includes footnotes calling attention to the dissociation next to the names of these six persons.