Skip to
English | Deutsch
English | Deutsch

University Council

The University Council accompanies the University of Freiburg and assumes responsibility in strategic terms. It consists of eleven members, six of whom are external to the university and five internal, who are appointed by the Minister of Science.

The University Council decides, among other things, on structural and development planning and proposes measures that serve to build the profile and increase the performance and competitiveness of the university. Furthermore, it supervises the management of the rectorate and, together with the senate, elects the full-time members of the rectorate.

Members (term of office 01.10.2021-30.09.2024)

Prof. Dr. Dr. Andreas Barner

External member


Member of the Shareholders’ Committee of C.H. Boehringer Sohn AG & Co. KG

Prof. Dr. Nina Buchmann

External member

Professor of Grassland Science at the Department of Environmental Systems Science at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) Zurich

Johanna Eckes

Internal member

Student of German, political science and geography for a teaching profession

Prof. Dr. Dr. Lars P. Feld

Internal member

Professor of Economics, especially Economics of Order, at the Faculty of Economics and Behavioural Sciences, Director of the Walter Eucken Institute

Prof. Dr. Anca-Ligia Grosu

Internal member

Director of the Clinic for Radiotherapeutics, University Hospital Freiburg

Christine Jägle

Internal member

Staff member in administration and technology, chairperson of the staff council

Bettina Limperg

External member

President of the Federal Supreme Court

Prof. Dr. Patricia Oster-Stierle

External member

Professor of French Literature at the Faculty of Philosophy of Saarland University

Prof. Dr. Hagen Pfundner

External member

General Manager of Roche Pharma AG

Dr. Nicola von Lutterotti

External member

Science journalist with a focus on medicine

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Andreas Voßkuhle

Internal member

Vice chairman

Professor of Public Law, Director of the Institute of Jurisprudence and Philosophy of Law of the Faculty of Law

Permanent meeting participants (advisory)

Prof. Dr. Kerstin Krieglstein


Christina Leib

Head of Administration

Prof. Dr. Michael Schwarze

Vice-President for Academic Affairs

Prof. Dr. Stefan Rensing

Vice-President for Research and Innovation

Prof. Dr. Sylvia Paletschek

Vice-President for University Culture

Prof. Dr. Daniela Kleinschmit

Vice-President for Internationalization and sustainability

Dr. Justus Lentsch

Representation of the Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts Baden-Württemberg

Dr. Regina Herzog

Equal Opportunities Officer

Prof. Dr. Cornelius Waller

Representation of the group of scientific staff members

Clemens Hermann Wagner

Representation of the group of doctoral students